Ayurveda – art of living

Now that I have some more time for myself, I finally managed to get a deeper knowledge about a system of traditional medicine native to India called Ayurveda. I’ve read several books already and applied some principles in my daily life routine and I enjoy it a lot. I wanted to do this for quite a while but I had no time to get my head around it and study some basic principles, but now hurayyyy I’ve done it; It suits me and I feel great 🙂

I think the best definition for Ayurveda is – the art of living wisely, it is a holistic system which guides us so that we can live a healthier and more balanced lifestyle. Ayurveda is derived from two Sanskrit root words: Ayu, which means Life, and Veda, which means the Knowledge. Thus Ayurveda refers to the Science of life and it helps in bringing balance of body, mind and consciousness, depending on individual constitution, by incorporating necessary lifestyle changes to maintain this balance.

Ayurveda is considered by some to have divine origin. Indian medicine has a long history, and is one of the oldest organised systems of medicine. Its earliest concepts are set out in the sacred writings called the Vedas. The art of Ayurveda had spread around in the 6th century BC to Tibet, China, Mongolia, Korea and Sri Lanka, carried over by the Buddhist monks travelling to those lands.

Ayurveda sees everything in the universe, including human beings, as composed of five basic elements: space, air, fire, water and earth and identifies three basic types of energies (functional principles) present in every individual. As there are no single words for these concepts in English, Ayurveda uses the original Sanskrit words ‘Vata’, ‘Pitta’ and ‘Kapha’. These bio-physical forces called Doshas correspond with air and space -Vata, fire and water – Pitta; water and earth – Kapha. Once you know what is your Dosha (constitutional type) you start applying some simple principles and use specific remedies to balance your Dosha.

I believe everyone should test and apply in theit daily life some healthy, natural principles that work well within themselves…It will bring more balance and happiness…and lots of health 

Leave a Reply

