Singapore

I’m back!!! With a glowing skin, a continuous pleasant feeling, lots of vitamin D and no modesty left whatsoever… Well, my dream is to see the world so each time I manage to visit a new country I get a nice, sweet feeling of accomplishment. That’s how I remind myself the best investments are those for the soul. And for me travelling, discovering and emerging into the beauty of this world gives me lots of joy and happiness.

This journey has been planned in less than 3 weeks as initially we were supposed to go somewhere else. But because we had to apply for a visa and it took longer than I thought to get it, we had to postpone our initial plan. The good news is the visa is secured and I know for sure where I’ll go next 🙂 happy times

Sooooo…first main part of the trip: Singapore

After we’ve spent a few hours in Hong-Kong, we took a connecting flight to Singapore (Sin) so here I am at 3am in this very clean, huge airport super excited for what is about to come. Even now I can picture our way from the airport to the hotel among these beautiful, huge trees; it was as if they were welcoming all of us into this nice city; Dani even said: It’s like Heaven…

We could only check-in at our hotel from 8am onwards so we left our bags there and went away for a walk. Quite a hot weather for 4am and lots of people hanging around. We’ve stayed at Novotel which has one of the best locations in the city centre, very close to a huge area of restaurants and bars, all with a nice view on the river. From there you can walk easily to may exciting places without the need of taking a taxi all the time.

If you visit Singapore, going to Sentosa (an island-resort, very close to the city) it’s a must – they call it Asia’s favourite playground and once you get there, you understand why. We went there mainly for Universal Studios where we’ve spent a whole day laughing and screaming (because of the roller-coasters mainly)…It was amazing!

Another part of the city where we’ve been more than one time (because of the good food) was Chinatown. I wasn’t so keen to go there to be honest, as you can find a Chinatown in most countries, but I quite enjoyed this one. You can find nice herbal shops and outdoor restaurants as well as a big square where people are dancing cha-cha, salsa and other western dances…veeeery weird and funny. But I must admit they were having a great fun and weren’t dancing too bad at all 🙂

A special mention to the Singapore Bay area which is absolutely stunning! I’ve been there during the day and night and it’s breath-taking. We’ve done some amazing pics but sadly, I haven’t got them now.

I must say it is the one of the cleanest cities I’ve ever seen (you are not allowed with chewing gum even). And it has some chic places to go to: nice small bars, caffees or restaurants really nicely done, with original features and lots of plants around. Actually this is one of the main images I’ve got about Singapore; it’s a city dipped in green, with plants/trees everywhere you look. I left with a very good impression and I I’d have the choice, I’d go there again. It’s not cheap to visit it but it’s really worth it.

Facts (Wikipedia):

–        As of 2011, the population of Singapore is 5.18 million people

–        Singapore has four official languages: English, Chinese, Malay, and Tamil.

–        The port of Singapore, one of the world’s five busiest

–        The country is currently the only Asian country to have AAA credit ratings from all three major credit rating agencies

–        According to the Corruption Perceptions Index, Singapore is consistently ranked as one of the least corrupt countries in the world, along with New Zealand and the Scandinavian countries.

–        This country is the world’s fourth leading financial centre.

Leave a Reply

